In the news

Opinion Pieces

Economic predictions for the rest of 2023 in unstable waters

Author:  Prof DF Meyer, College of Business and Economics, UJ

The Bureau for Market Research (Pty) Ltd at Unisa is the host of the re-branded “Economist of the Year” competition since 2022. This competition, which facilitates economic predictions by economists, was for many years facilitated by Media24. Participating economists analyse and predict a range of eight economic indicators monthly during the year. This year, 36 economists from universities, financial institutions, corporate businesses and the private sector are competing to be named the “Economist of 2023”. Read full article here>

Listen to the interview with Prof Carel van Aardt on Channel Africa | 14 September 2023

Press Releases

Announcement of the winner and runners-up of the 2022 BMR/UNISA Economist of the Year competition

Source: Bureau of Market Research Editorial Team
Prof Carel van Aardt, Prof Deon Tustin and Mrs Jacolize Meiring | 2 June 2023

The winner and two runners-up of the 2022 BMR/Unisa Economist of the Year competition were announced during an award ceremony held in Pretoria on the 1st of June. The competition winner and runners-up were identified by an adjudication panel determining which of the 33 participating economists were the most accurate at forecasting the outcomes of eight economic variables for 2022.  Read full article here>

More rate hikes are not going to fix South Africa’s problems: economist

Staff writer | 12 April 2023

Various international institutions found that weak economic fundamentals, political instability, commodity dependence, exchange rate volatility and the US dollar surge are major contributors to high levels of inflation in emerging countries like South Africa, says Francois Stofberg, the managing director of private clients at Efficient Wealth.  Read full article here>

Is it all doom and gloom for the South African economy?

Source: Bureau of Market Research Editorial Team
Prof Carel van Aardt & Mrs Jacolize Meiring | 6 April 2023

A total of 38 South African top economists are participating in the 2023 Economist of the Year (EoY) competition, co-hosted by the Bureau of Market Research (BMR) and the University of South Africa (Unisa). To take part in the competition, participating economists are required to provide projected estimates with respect to eight variables on a monthly basis.  Read full article here>

Why inflation is moving in the wrong direction in South Africa

Staff writer | 23 March 2023

Inflation will likely be higher for longer as rising food costs and higher medical aid prices filter through the data in the coming months. Consumer price inflation and core inflation rose in February against market expectations and after easing for three consecutive months, Stats SA reported this week.  Read full article here>

Explainer: What a weak rand means for interest rates

Source: Mail & Guardian
Sarah Smit | 14 March 2023

The rand lost its footing again last week, freefalling to a two-year low, reaching R18.73 to the dollar. Though the domestic currency has since managed to retrace some ground, thanks to recent turmoil in the US banking sector, it continues to be underpinned by weakness.  Read full article here>

South Africa is in trouble

Staff Writer | 13 March 2023

Whether South Africa is pushed into a full recession in 2023 or not, the country’s economy is in trouble, say economists at the Bureau for Economic Research (BER). Read full article here>

3 tips to help you stay financially afloat

Source: IOL
Dhivana Rajgopual | 13 March 2023

Many South African consumers may find themselves in the middle of a financial storm following an increase in the cost of petrol, a rise in interest rates and spiralling food costs.  However, all is not lost, as consumers can take steps to gain control of their finances and make better money management choices. Read full article here>

Social Media

Watch this space

Previous Winners

1988: Johan Louw – Sanlam
1989: Johann du Pisanie – Senbank
1990: Ulrich Joubert – Transnet
1991: Louis Geldenhuys – Senekal Mouton & Kitshoff
1992: Dave Mohr – Ou Mutual / Old Mutual
1993: Ulrich Joubert – Transnet
1994: Louis Fourie – JMM-Beleggingsdienste
1995: Nico Czypionka – Standard Bank
1996: Edward Osborn – Edey Rogers
1997: Riaan Lombard – Afrikaanse Handelinstituut / AHI
1998: Herman van Papendorp – BoE Securities
1999: Dave Mohr – Citadel
2000: Annemarie Wiehahn – Sasol
2001: Ulrich Joubert – Transnet
2002: Jac Laubscher – Sanlam
2003: Johan Willemse – Onafhanklike landbouekonoom / Independent agricultural economist
2004: Roelof Botha – PricewaterhouseCoopers
2005: Mike Schüssler – T-sec
2006: André Mellet – NWU
2007: Mike Schüssler – T-sec
2008: Christo Luüs – Ecoquant
2009: Sonja Keller – JP Morgan
2010: Michael McClintock – Sasol & Annabel Bishop – Investec
2011: Dennis Dykes – Nedbank
2012: Gerhard Kuhn – IDC
2013: Ulrich Joubert – Onafhanklike
2014: Rian le Roux- Old Mutual
2015: Dawie Roodt- The Efficient Group
2016: Rian le Roux – Old Mutual
2017: Rian le Roux – Old Mutual
2018: Gerhard Kuhn – IDC
2019: Johannes Jordaan – Economic Modelling Solutions
2020: Johannes Jordaan – Economic Modelling Solutions
2021: Hugo Pienaar – Bureau of Economic Research
2022: Ulrich Joubert – Independent Economist